Review  
RyRy N.    July 29, 2015    Aberdeen, MD   
Author Picture

Dined at this restaurant for lunch and enjoyed the buffet. Don't let the affordable price for this buffet mis-lead you, it is absolutely DELICIOUS! I was very impressed with the quality, flavor and variety of savory dishes the buffet had to offer. The wonderful food paired with the excellent and attentive service made for a truly enjoyable lunch! If you are in the area and would like a genuine taste of Indian Cuisine,

...more
Review  
RyRy N.    July 29, 2015    Aberdeen, MD   
Author Picture

Dined at this restaurant for lunch and enjoyed the buffet. Don't let the affordable price for this buffet mis-lead you, it is absolutely DELICIOUS! I was very impressed with the quality, flavor and variety of savory dishes the buffet had to offer. The wonderful food paired with the excellent and attentive service made for a truly enjoyable lunch! If you are in the area and would like a genuine taste of Indian Cuisine, I would highly suggest this new establishment!!!

Review  
Chuck S.    March 19, 2016    Rosedale, MD   
Author Picture

By far my favorite Indian restaurant in Maryland. We were treated to a bellydance performance at the end of dinner. The food was perfect. I'm so glad I came here tonight. I highly recommend this place.

Review  
Shelby W.    March 20, 2016    Washington, DC   
Author Picture

First of all the food is absolutely amazing!!! The only reason I would not give Taste of Taj 5 stars is due to the lackluster service.

We arrived with reservations at 5:30 for four on a Saturday evening. We were sat right away and there were a few open tables. It took the server about 10-15 minutes to greet our table.

...more
Review  
Shelby W.    March 20, 2016    Washington, DC   
Author Picture

First of all the food is absolutely amazing!!! The only reason I would not give Taste of Taj 5 stars is due to the lackluster service.

We arrived with reservations at 5:30 for four on a Saturday evening. We were sat right away and there were a few open tables. It took the server about 10-15 minutes to greet our table. At that point we knew our whole order so we put everything in at once.

The drinks arrived promptly, as well as, the appetizers but the server didn't come back to offer refills, we had to flag him down. He also didn't check to see how our food was when the entrees arrived which was okay since everything was amazing.

Our table got a variety of entrees and all the dishes were wonderful. I really liked how every person could choose on a scale of 1-10 how spicy they would like their dish.

Highly recommend!

Review  
Leslie G.    August 1, 2015    Middle River, MD   

This is now one of my favorite Indian restaurants. The food was excellent, nice atmosphere and decent prices for what you get. The service was good. Not one bad thing to say about this place. A must try hidden gem in Perry Hall.

Review  
Anita P.    April 18, 2016    Greenbelt, MD   

We had delicious food at Taste of Taj. We ordered the assorted appetizer plate. All of it was tasty however we found the samosa to be very greasy. For our main courses, we ordered the rava dosa, plain dosa, onion kulcha, gobi manchurian and butter paneer masala. Everything we ordered was wonderful. Tasted very authentic and we throughly enjoyed our meal.

...more
Review  
Anita P.    April 18, 2016    Greenbelt, MD   

We had delicious food at Taste of Taj. We ordered the assorted appetizer plate. All of it was tasty however we found the samosa to be very greasy. For our main courses, we ordered the rava dosa, plain dosa, onion kulcha, gobi manchurian and butter paneer masala. Everything we ordered was wonderful. Tasted very authentic and we throughly enjoyed our meal. Although the food was delicious the wait staff were extremely slow with serving food, answering our questions, bring things we requested. They were confused when asked to redeem our Yelp discount. They were very friendly but seemed new and unsure of how and what to do.

Review  
Nicole S.    August 2, 2015    Baltimore, MD   

We've been waiting for this place to open for about a year now. At least once a week when I ask what everyone wants for dinner I hear "Indian food!" I thought the food was good and they offered a spiciness level from 1-10. We went with 7 because the waitress thought 8 would be too much for the kids.

...more
Review  
Nicole S.    August 2, 2015    Baltimore, MD   

We've been waiting for this place to open for about a year now. At least once a week when I ask what everyone wants for dinner I hear "Indian food!" I thought the food was good and they offered a spiciness level from 1-10. We went with 7 because the waitress thought 8 would be too much for the kids. We trusted her judgement. It was spicy but not too hot. I would have preferred spicier, but this was fine. The couple at the table next to us ordered their food at level 2 and was on fire Lots of variety on the menu. They even have a simple kids menu if yours aren't adventurous. Staff and service was excellent. The light could stand to be a little dimmer. There is also a bar. I didn't have anything to drink, but the bar looked great. My kids actually wanted to eat in the bar area. They even gave us a little complimentary honey ball thing for dessert. (I don't know what they are called because I don't actually like them. But our server was so nice that I ate one anyway to be polite. ) They also have buffet which I can't wait to try.

Review  
David M.    February 19, 2016    Baltimore, MD   
Author Picture

Enjoyed the buffet: well-balanced flavors, not too salty (i can always do with less salt), reasonably priced, and a nice variety. Pleasant atmosphere and courteous waitstaff. I arrived towards the end of the posted lunch buffet hours, yet i was not given any dirty looks, nor did the food seem old and dried out as it often can at some establishments in the last half-hour of the buffet period.

...more
Review  
David M.    February 19, 2016    Baltimore, MD   
Author Picture

Enjoyed the buffet: well-balanced flavors, not too salty (i can always do with less salt), reasonably priced, and a nice variety. Pleasant atmosphere and courteous waitstaff. I arrived towards the end of the posted lunch buffet hours, yet i was not given any dirty looks, nor did the food seem old and dried out as it often can at some establishments in the last half-hour of the buffet period. I definitely plan to return!

Review  
Harry P.    April 8, 2016    Nottingham, MD   

Food is nice and the restuarant is nice and clean compared to other restuarants in the area .only reason to give a 4 star rating is they charge a lot of gratuaity (20% ) even when you don't dine in there. Buffet and carryout/delivery should not have any gratuaity added to the bill . Hope they change it ..besides that good food and good environment.

...more
Review  
Harry P.    April 8, 2016    Nottingham, MD   

Food is nice and the restuarant is nice and clean compared to other restuarants in the area .only reason to give a 4 star rating is they charge a lot of gratuaity (20% ) even when you don't dine in there. Buffet and carryout/delivery should not have any gratuaity added to the bill . Hope they change it ..besides that good food and good environment.

Review  
Jack P.    February 28, 2016    Perry Hall, MD   
Author Picture

The food here is consistently excellent, with the buffet having enough variety and rotation to keep things fresh every visit. I'm eating here once a week now, and that's only because I'm at school for the rest of the week. The staff are warm and welcoming and the atmosphere is in a way exciting. The buffet is well worth the price,

...more
Review  
Jack P.    February 28, 2016    Perry Hall, MD   
Author Picture

The food here is consistently excellent, with the buffet having enough variety and rotation to keep things fresh every visit. I'm eating here once a week now, and that's only because I'm at school for the rest of the week. The staff are warm and welcoming and the atmosphere is in a way exciting. The buffet is well worth the price, with some of the best food around, Indian or otherwise.

Review  
Ann H.    January 21, 2016    Perry Hall, MD   

The food at Taste of Taj is delicious and very authentic. The breads are hand made and very fresh, a rarity at competitors. I highly recommend T of T but have one complaint. The bar area is manned by a friendly man, with limited English but a proclivity for rap music, blasted through the bar. This is very inappropriate for the style and cuisine,

...more
Review  
Ann H.    January 21, 2016    Perry Hall, MD   

The food at Taste of Taj is delicious and very authentic. The breads are hand made and very fresh, a rarity at competitors. I highly recommend T of T but have one complaint. The bar area is manned by a friendly man, with limited English but a proclivity for rap music, blasted through the bar. This is very inappropriate for the style and cuisine, as well as being unsettling when one wants to enjoy a cocktail or appetizer. Moreover, the bartender is often not even in the room so it is difficult to get drinks. The manager/owner needs to get control of the bar staff, music etc. There is money to be made and a crowd to be had but the bar situation needs significant improvement. We love the food so please fix this problem.

Review  
Brie P.    January 10, 2016    Wayne, PA   
Author Picture

We went here last night for dinner and like many reviewers have said, we were very impressed by the food and drinks and our experience was a positive one.
The servers were attentive and the atmosphere was cultural and unique. During our dinner, we enjoyed a 15-20 minute classical Indian dance.
The restaurant seems to be gaining quite a following and we will definitely return!

...more
Review  
Brie P.    January 10, 2016    Wayne, PA   
Author Picture

We went here last night for dinner and like many reviewers have said, we were very impressed by the food and drinks and our experience was a positive one.
The servers were attentive and the atmosphere was cultural and unique. During our dinner, we enjoyed a 15-20 minute classical Indian dance.
The restaurant seems to be gaining quite a following and we will definitely return!

Review  
Jean N.    February 2, 2016    Perry Hall, MD   
Author Picture

Love this new restaurant! The daily buffet boasts a wealth of extraordinary Indian dishes for the most reasonable of prices The staff there could not have been more attentive and generous. This is THE BEST Indian buffet in Baltimore County. Make plans to visit soon!

Review  
Gail A.    April 22, 2016    Pawtucket, RI   
Author Picture

Really enjoyed dining here with my sisters. There's something for everyone. We had the "Baingan Bharta" eggplant the chicken Biryani and the lamb vindaloo it was delicious. Great service. Easy parking. This was such a delicious meal. We enjoyed eating here so much yesterday we ate here today as well. Get the egggplant its D lish

Review  
Leah H.    February 24, 2016    Towson, MD   
Author Picture

Great Indian restaurant. I have eaten here several times since they have opened and the food has always been delicious. The atmosphere is very nice and the waiters are very friendly. I usually get the chicken tikka masala, which is always good, but I have also tried many other dishes and all are delicious. My only complaint is when I ordered an extra spicy dish (a level 10 out of 1-10),

...more
Review  
Leah H.    February 24, 2016    Towson, MD   
Author Picture

Great Indian restaurant. I have eaten here several times since they have opened and the food has always been delicious. The atmosphere is very nice and the waiters are very friendly. I usually get the chicken tikka masala, which is always good, but I have also tried many other dishes and all are delicious. My only complaint is when I ordered an extra spicy dish (a level 10 out of 1-10), it wasn't spicy at all. But still, the food was tasty.

Review  
Jay S.    March 7, 2016    Burlingame, CA   
Author Picture

The food was fresh and delicious. The service was excellent! Definitely recommend this place!

Review  
Sarah L.    July 11, 2015    Nottingham, MD   
Author Picture

Excited to have another choice in PH for Indian. Stopped for lunch buffet with friends and kids. Very good fresh selection. Nice decor and good service.

Review  
Nan G.    January 25, 2016    Holt, FL   

Good food, very mild on the spice on the day I went. However, no matter where you go the spice level changes daily. But still very nice variety on buffet. People here are so nice and accommodating. I got take out and they were all getting containers and nan, etc... for me Looking forward to going back. Oh, and the bar area is beautiful.

...more
Review  
Nan G.    January 25, 2016    Holt, FL   

Good food, very mild on the spice on the day I went. However, no matter where you go the spice level changes daily. But still very nice variety on buffet. People here are so nice and accommodating. I got take out and they were all getting containers and nan, etc... for me Looking forward to going back. Oh, and the bar area is beautiful. They have happy hours too.

Review  
Nisha J.    July 5, 2015    Perry Hall, MD   
Author Picture

My husband and I stopped in for the lunch buffet. Food was flavorful and the samosas and green chutney were phenomenal! Really friendly and professional staff... It was refreshing. Give this place a try if you want good Indian food and some south Indian dhosas!

Review  
Shilpa B.    August 2, 2015   
Author Picture

Great place for Goooood Indian Food.
I stopped by this place not expecting much. But what a surprise. It is a high end restaurant with lots of Indian food options. I am surprised to find such a nice atmosphere in Indian restaurant.
I ordered spicy chicken Kadai and spinach dosa. And both of them were excellent. They had variety of spices with the dosa which were DELICIOUS.

...more
Review  
Shilpa B.    August 2, 2015   
Author Picture

Great place for Goooood Indian Food.
I stopped by this place not expecting much. But what a surprise. It is a high end restaurant with lots of Indian food options. I am surprised to find such a nice atmosphere in Indian restaurant.
I ordered spicy chicken Kadai and spinach dosa. And both of them were excellent. They had variety of spices with the dosa which were DELICIOUS. I also ordered garlic naan which was fantastic.
I would really recommend this place to everybody. And I will be coming here a lot myself.

Review  
Raja S.    July 18, 2015    Bethesda, MD   
Author Picture

Excellent food the fish fry was really good overall some of the best Indian food in the area

Review  
Katie C.    March 16, 2016    Nottingham, MD   
Author Picture

Although the food was delicious and I LOVE that they have vegan options, the bartenders working the night I went were very unfriendly. I tried to let it go but it really bothered me. The bar was not busy but the people working were too involved in their own conversation to notice I had been standing there trying to get their attention to order.

...more
Review  
Katie C.    March 16, 2016    Nottingham, MD   
Author Picture

Although the food was delicious and I LOVE that they have vegan options, the bartenders working the night I went were very unfriendly. I tried to let it go but it really bothered me. The bar was not busy but the people working were too involved in their own conversation to notice I had been standing there trying to get their attention to order. I plan to come back and give Taj another try because the food was delicious. I see that a lot of people were happy with the service so maybe the employees were having an off night? Idk but my friends and I don't think this place will stay here for long unless they have good consistent customer service.

Review  
Paul N.    March 16, 2016    Baltimore, MD   

The restaurant environment is really nice. I took my family of 6, we had tikka masala, Korma, vindaloo, and tiikka kebob (like a shashlik in the UK). The food was hot fresh and finally it has amazing flavor! Ive been to a few Indian places in Baltimore and I come away unimpressed. This place is legit!

Review  
Kathleen M.    January 9, 2016    Perry Hall, MD   
Author Picture

I've only been here for the lunch buffet. My husband and I have been about three times. It's really awesome! There are different things on the buffet every time we go but there are also tried and true things always available. The Chicken Tikka Masala is delicious paired with the saffron rice. They also have a cold salad- cucumbers, carrots,

...more
Review  
Kathleen M.    January 9, 2016    Perry Hall, MD   
Author Picture

I've only been here for the lunch buffet. My husband and I have been about three times. It's really awesome! There are different things on the buffet every time we go but there are also tried and true things always available. The Chicken Tikka Masala is delicious paired with the saffron rice. They also have a cold salad- cucumbers, carrots, onions etc that is spiced to perfection! We will definitely be returning. I would like to see more coupons for the buffet though !!

Review  
Wesley F.    February 3, 2016    Parkville, MD   

My wife and I really enjoy your lunch buffet. The food is excellent and seasoned just right. I was surprised to see Lamb Vindaloo on the buffet. Can't wait to come back for another wonderful meal. The servers are very nice and attentive, too.

Review  
Melissa B.    July 12, 2015    Parkville, MD   
Author Picture

Finally! An amazing Indian restaurant that hasn't let me down at all .

Upon walking in the air is filled with that amazing smell of spices , it fills your nose and instantly your mouth waters because you just know the food will be great!

The restaurant is very clean and very well decorated. The staff is very attentive and friendly,

...more
Review  
Melissa B.    July 12, 2015    Parkville, MD   
Author Picture

Finally! An amazing Indian restaurant that hasn't let me down at all .

Upon walking in the air is filled with that amazing smell of spices , it fills your nose and instantly your mouth waters because you just know the food will be great!

The restaurant is very clean and very well decorated. The staff is very attentive and friendly, they seem genuinely happy and concerned about their customers being happy.

Now for the best part , the food . My husband and I had the lunch buffet and my daughter wanted the chicken strips kids meal. We were given an option of where we would like to sit . As we sat our glasses were filled with ice water and that glass was never found empty thanks to the very attentive wait staff.

Chicken Tikka Masala : this is one of my favorites when it comes to Indian food and I recommend it for anyone that is new to eating Indian. This dish was mild and flavorful, nice chunks of white meat chicken in a flavorful creamy tomato sauce . To me this dish is like Indian comfort food. I highly recommend trying it .

Vegetable Samosa: These were the best I have had yet ! Crunchy outside with that smooth starchy potato and pea combination. Other places tend to over do them but not here , these were absolutely spot on !

Aloo Gobi: one of my favorite vegetarian dishes, nice chunks of soft potato and soft but still firm cauliflower, nice mild flavor.

Palak Paneer: yumm! I'm normally pretty indifferent about this dish but they totally changed my mind . Normally when I've had this at other places it's been very lack luster and bland but that's not at all the case here ! Upon my fist bite the flavorful texture covered my tongue, it wasn't at all paste like or bland , they made it in a way that really carried the base Indian spices . I was mixing it with my basmati rice yummm.

Tandoori Chicken: often this dish can be dry but again not at all the case here . I took a bite of my husband's and I was absolutely blown away ! The chicken had that very pretty red spiced meat on the outside and the inside was just as moist as you could possibly want . I also highly recommend trying this ! Especially for people that are new to trying Indian food .

They have a variety of sauces that complement the dishes and it's really fun to layer in the flavors.

Chicken Biryani: This is another recommended dish for those that aren't familiar with Indian food . The rice was cooked and spiced properly and the chicken was tender. This is an excellent choice for those that want the familiar feel of a rice dish .

Gulab Jamun: I absolutely adore these ! There's nothing better than a nice smooth soaked cake ball . I love how they absolutely nail these ! They're just as they should be , not too heavy and the honey and cardamom syrup is just right .

Rice Pudding: I have to admit that I am a rice pudding snob , I grew up with it and it has to have certain requirements for me to really enjoy it . Their version was lovely, it wasn't too thick or over done , the rich creamy pudding was infused with clove and cardamom. I'm really a fan of it ! It's the perfect way to end your meal and something about it just makes you peaceful.

Naan: oh how we loved their naan! It's exactly how it should be , soft and pillow like and glazed with butter . We had so much of this lol my daughter probably ate a basket herself.

I wasn't able to try everything that they offered but as I go back I will update new dishes I have tried . We will most definitely be back soon !

Review  
Bibi S.    August 9, 2015    Bel Air, MD   
Author Picture

I've eaten here a few times since they opened. The Lamb Kadhai is delicious and the Taj Kabob Platter is excellent.I highly recommend this. Also had the Chicken Saagwala (1st time) and it was very tasty. Definitely going back for some delicious Indian food. They also have a Indian Thai fusion that I will try on my next visit.

Review  
Lelouch L.    February 15, 2016    Parkville, MD   
Author Picture

The food is really delicious and exceptional quality. The only negative aspect about the food is the price. An example would be the butter chicken. It's $15 but it only serves one person and comes with more sauce (a lot more sauce) than chicken. So, the sauce-to-chicken ratio is heavily one-sided.

The atmosphere inside is relaxing and tranquil.

...more
Review  
Lelouch L.    February 15, 2016    Parkville, MD   
Author Picture

The food is really delicious and exceptional quality. The only negative aspect about the food is the price. An example would be the butter chicken. It's $15 but it only serves one person and comes with more sauce (a lot more sauce) than chicken. So, the sauce-to-chicken ratio is heavily one-sided.

The atmosphere inside is relaxing and tranquil. It's an eating place with a serene ambiance.

Review  
Mashal C.    March 15, 2016    Lorton, VA   
Author Picture

By far the best Indian Restaurant located in Maryland! Their Butter Chicken was extremely tasty with the best crisp naans. Excellent choices for their Buffet Style- all you can eat for $8.99 and it was so worth the price! Many different options and lots of flavor- what else can you ask for? The service is just unbeatable- always assisted our table and made sure our drinks were always filled.

...more
Review  
Mashal C.    March 15, 2016    Lorton, VA   
Author Picture

By far the best Indian Restaurant located in Maryland! Their Butter Chicken was extremely tasty with the best crisp naans. Excellent choices for their Buffet Style- all you can eat for $8.99 and it was so worth the price! Many different options and lots of flavor- what else can you ask for? The service is just unbeatable- always assisted our table and made sure our drinks were always filled. Highly recommended!!! Can't wait to try it again when I'm in the area!